A car accident in Florida happened along U.S. 1 in the Northeastern part of the state around 5 p.m. Saturday, according to a report. A Hilliard woman is in critical condition after a car riding nearby slammed into her SUV, causing it to roll.
According to the Florida Highway Patrol, both the car and SUV were traveling north. A 50 year-old driver’s car went out of control and struck the SUV. The 45 year-old woman inside the SUV was taken to Shands-Jacksonville with critical injuries. The other driver suffered minor injuries. FHP says charges may be filed.
Our condolences go out to both drivers and especially the woman in critical condition for a speedy recovery from this Florida SUV rollover accident.
According to state statistics, almost one-third of traffic fatalities involve a blood alcohol level of 0.08 or higher, although we do not know at this time whether alcohol was involved in this accident.
In 2006, there were 959 alcohol-related fatalities in Florida. Under Florida law, DUI or driving under the influence of alcohol is measured at a 0.08 or above blood alcohol level (BAC).
The penalties in the state for a first conviction are no less than $500 nor more than $1,000. When the blood/breath level is .15 or higher, the fines rise to no less than $1,000 nor more than $2,000. Fines go up from there for a second, third of fourth conviction. But when jail time is added at the court’s discretion, it usually gets the attention of the driver. A person can be sent to a residential alcoholism or drug abuse treatment program – for a first conviction for no more than six months.
A fourth or subsequent conviction will likely bring you up to five years in prison as a habitual offender. If someone is killed, charges can change to DUI manslaughter or vehicular homicide, which a conviction can bring a prison term of up to 30 years.
There are many reasons someone can swerve on the road and alcohol is only one of them. Inattention or even a medical condition, such as a heart attack, can all cause someone to drive erratically. If you have been injured by another driver on the road, Florida’s experienced car accident attorneys at Farah and Farah can advise you on the course you should take to make sure your rights are protected and you have your medical bills covered for an accident that is not your fault. Our personal injury attorneys can make sure you’re compensated through the uninsured/underinsured clause of the victim’s auto insurance policy or any other policy that may apply. Contact us today for a case evaluation.