Florida Driver’s License Revocations Double in a Decade

The data is in on the number of Floridians who have lost their driver’s license because they are mentally or physically unfit. The Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles stated that the number has more than doubled to 7,716 in 2010 from 3,559 in 2000. The trend may be attributed to older drivers who have lost their license because of dementia, seizures, and stroke.

According to a report in The South Florida Sun Sentinel, someone who is impaired can be reported to the state by a family member, a stranger, or a professional and happen after the driver has been in an accident, observed driving recklessly, or seemed confused.

If a driver indicates he has a medical condition, Florida will request more information. If the driver fails or refuses to submit additional detailed medical information showing why he or she should stay behind the wheel, he or she could lose the privilege to drive.

The analysis by the Sun Sentinel also found that 6,559 Florida drivers age 80 and above who have had their license revoked either failed a vision test or did not submit to a vision test.

Under Florida law, once you hit the age of 80, you must submit to a vision test every six years.

The Manatee County auto accident lawyers of Farah & Farah understand that Florida has always had older drivers. According to the U.S. Census Bureau, 20 percent of residents are over the age of 65 and in twenty years that will turn to 25 percent of drivers.

What’s curious is that a person of any age can have a medical condition, and statistically speaking the highest number of collisions fall in the 20 to 24 age group, not older drivers who statistically have very few auto accidents.

Source: http://www.sun-sentinel.com/business/fl-gx-13p8-driving-lic-revocation.eps-20111021,0,3952808.graphic; http://articles.sun-sentinel.com/2011-10-21/business/fl-driving-license-revocations-20111021_1_older-drivers-drivers-licenses-fran-carlin-rogers