The Florida Highway Patrol (FHP) says it will have zero tolerance for motorists who do not wear their seat belt during the Memorial Day weekend, beginning Friday, May 27. This marks the 11th Click It or Ticket campaign in Florida and now with a primary safety belt law, officers can pull you over and issue you a ticket if you fail to buckle up.
The FHP reminds us:
- That Florida’s use of seat belts is now at 87.5 percent – an all-time high.
- In Florida in 2010, 64 percent of 21 to 24-year-olds who died in traffic accidents were not wearing a seat belt.
- While Collier County had the lowest rate of unbuckled passengers and drivers, Gadsden County had the highest in 2008. FHP invites you to see where you county ranks by visiting http://www.clickitfla.com/wp-content/uploads/2010/05/CountyByCountyFatalities-2008.pdf
Expect the FHP to be out all Memorial Day weekend beginning Friday, May 27 and ending midnight Monday, May 30. You should also expect to see FHP Auxiliary and Reserve troopers patroling interstate and major state roads.
Under Florida’s primary seat belt law, passed in June 2009, all front-seat passengers must wear a seat belt. Everyone under the age of 18 must wear a seat belt or be buckled into a child safety seat. It appears to be working. For example, in Volusia County wrote 3,231 citations the year after the new law, a 12 percent increase. Between May 2010 and May 2011, another 16 percent jump in citations was noted by the 3,775 citations or ten tickets a day, reports The Daytona Beach News-Journal.
The Jacksonville car accident lawyers at Farah & Farah law firm reminds you that you can report an aggressive driver by dialing *FHP (*347) from your cell phone to contact FHP. Also use the service to call in for someone who needs roadside assistance.
Stay safe this weekend!