The beginning first months of any New Year bring some new traffic laws to Florida. One specifically addresses bad drivers, sending them back to school when they are at fault in three crashes with a 36-month period. 322.0261 was enacted during the 2009 legislative session.
“In an effort to make our roads safer, those who display a pattern of poor driving ability or judgment will be required to complete a driver improvement course,” says Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles Executive Director, Julie L. Jones. “The new law is designed to modify the behavior of some of our worst drivers.”
As many as 1,000 Florida drivers may be subject to the new requirements during 2010, especially when traffic transgressions go back as far as 2007.
Beginning in early January, those drivers who are among the worst will receive notices that they are subject to the new law. Drivers will be given 90 days to complete the approved course. If they fail to do so, they could lose their driving privileges.
Each course will take at least 16 hours to complete and will include four hours of behind-the-wheel training. After being at fault in three car crashes in Florida, it is a very good idea to go back to the classroom before you hurt others on the road.
The National Highway Traffic Safety Administration estimates that the average cost of a crash in the United States is about $38,000. The costlier toll is the more than 3,000 people the DHSMV reports are killed every year on Florida’s roadways.
“The beauty of this new law is that not only is it penalizing you for bad behavior, but it’s also trying to improve that bad behavior by retraining you,” Delahoz said. “We think it’s positive. Anything to increase driver safety, we’re behind.”